Consumers are faced with increasing numbers of advertisements from competing companies. To what extent do you think are consumers influenced by advertisements? What measures can be taken to protect them?

Recently, commercial advertisements have proliferated in a variety of television channels, newspapers, magazines and websites, as a result of fierce competition in the market. This trend exerts profound impact on consumers and there should be some solutions taken to tackle it. It is highly likely that customers fall victim to companies' advertising campaigns. This is because large companies often exaggerate the usefulness of a few small product features when advertising. For example, Apple released a new model, which just has more cameras than the previous one but they still can draw a huge attention of both the rich and the poor pour money to buy one. Furthermore, such campaigns focus on the advantages they have in compared with their rivals rather than on their products' quality. Therefore, customers cannot know about the disadvantages that play an important in their decision whether buy a product or not. For these consequences, a number of solutions should be brought forward to address this situation. First and foremost, censorship, from my perspective, is the key to addressing the problem. This measure means every product has to be examined carefully before reaching the consumers, which can assure that customers have the best experience. For instance, a smartphone need to meet all demands of the manufacturers to be published and brought into businesses. Besides, governments should put the strict rules on the organizing advertising campaigns of companies. To explain, businesses which want to advertise their products should have the certifications of their latest products' quality from councils. In summary, many businesses use advertising to gain an edge over their competitors rather than fulfil customers ’ needs. Such a trend may exert negative effects on their customers and this is a need for some solutions implemented to deal with. It is predicted that this prevalent trend may increase in the future without any remedies.