There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is becoming relevant that young people tend to receive more and more pressure in their academic responsibilities. Along with this pressure, there is a rise of arguments that academic approaches should be dominant over non-academic courses, such as physical education and cookery. This essay will disagree with such arguments and outline the reasons to support the stance. Elective courses play a vital role in balancing the dynamics of young people's academic journeys. An academic institution should not only have the capability to develop someone's apprehension in fixed knowledge but also provide other aspects of development, like promoting healthy lifestyles. Courses like physical education are as important as maths and sciences in terms of how it benefits a person to carry on their everyday life. With this in mind, removing those aspects of development in the school syllabus is simply taking away the opportunity to prepare young people to live a better life. Moreover, in this day and age, people can have fulfilling lives without solely following a fixed curriculum. Other interests can be pursued through these elective courses, like cookery, woodwork, and ceramics. Young people should be introduced to these skills to pave their way to a more specialised field later on. Through this effort, they can achieve fruitful results that stem from personal interests. To summarise, I personally have a complete disagreement with the suggestion of removing non-academic modules from the school syllabus. This action would prevent students from developing other relevant and everyday skills when in reality they can result in fulfilling individual lives.