People can perform everyday tasks, such as shopping and banking as well as business transactions, without meeting other people face-to-face. What are the effects of this on individuals and society as a whole?

People nowadays start to rely on the Internet for daily errands. Personally, I believe we can reap the benefits from the Internet, however, over-reliance on it may bring negative consequences. On the one hand, the Internet facilitates the lives of many and it changed the way of our life in many eras. For example, digital payments allow us to purchase goods without bringing cash; Online courses make it easier for us to access any learning resources; Electronic communications technology enables us to meet and contact others from anywhere and at any time; There is no doubt that the Internet has already changed the fundamental of people's lives. In other words, using the Internet increases our productivity and efficiency. It makes our lives more convenient and entertaining. While I am fascinated by the benefits that the Internet brings to us, on the other hand, I am also apprehensive about its potential negative effects. The biggest concern about it is that people nowadays are so used to the Internet, which becomes an addiction. Children who are addicted to video games tend to ditch classes, which will definitely influence their scores at school. Adults look at their phones all the time, surfing the Internet, trying to get entertainment through social media, yet, losing real contact with their family and friends, ending up becoming lonely and stressed. Consequently, the Internet poses a threat to our interpersonal communication skills. In conclusion, the internet is a plus and a minus. While it makes our lives convenient and interesting, if we are not careful enough, we are going to get so used to it, leading to a counterproductive result in the end.