Some people say that children who find subjects such as mathematics and philosophy difficult do not have to study them at school. These subjects should be optional, not compulsory. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people think that subjects like mathematics and philosophy should not be obligatory at school, because they seem to be hard to be learnt by some children. However, I totally disagree with this belief. First and foremost, mathematics helps children to have more job opportunities in the future. Mathematics is the science of data analysis and solving complicated numeral issues which are the basis of any other skills. The more young generation have useful skills, the better work opportunities they may have. In this new age of technology, for example, knowing programming languages such as C++ and python could bring a great promotion for young adults at work. But if they do not know mathematics it is impossible for them to work with these kinds of software. Furthermore, philosophy is the science that increases the quality of people’s lives. By learning philosophy children will learn the meaning of life, deal with hard spiritual circumstances and struggle with losses in their life. Since any individual may have to face these issues and questions someday in their lifetime, this subject should not be optional at school but should be compulsory. Some may argue that forcing students to study fields which they do not want to, is in contrast with human freedom of choice, however, I think teachers should try their best to make these subjects more attractive and use innovative methods of teaching, so children have better feelings toward these difficult lessons since they are necessary and conducive for their future. To sum up, I think hard fields like mathematics and philosophy should not only be taught at schools but also be compulsory for students to pass them due to their benefits for their forthcoming life.