Some people think that newspapers are the best way to learn about current events. However, others believe that they can learn news better through other media. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Digitization has spread its reach even to media, segregating people into two pools. One who still loves to gather current affairs through newspaper and other which relies on vivid social media platforms. I belong to the alternate group and personally believe in updating my knowledge base through Twitter, Facebook or Instagram. Newspapers are still the most common form of acquiring information as many of us are still acquainted with this old way and find it cumbersome to operate modern gadgets. Moreover, a newspaper is published by a designated authority and is more trustworthy as compared to crowd driven social media. Lastly, it is still a cheap variant as compared to a smartphone or a tablet which is required for accessing all the news applications. Hence, it can be bought by almost everyone. In contrast, Twitter or similar channels are a lightning-fast way of staying up to date with everyday events. Further, it even provides convenience of reading anytime and anywhere, along with a proactive user base that is always available to enlighten others. In addition, one can easily define their preferences to receive updates on specific domains. In my,opinion if one is well versed with using the internet and smart devices, then the pros of using the same outweigh the ancient approach of newspapers. Also, the switch from newspapers will be an advantage to the environment as we will reduce the consumption of paper and hence save trees.