In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

The world in the 21st century experiences the booming of socio-economic development and other aspects of life. Together with that advancement, businesses are constantly launching new products and services to meet the requirements of society and advertising has become vital in promoting their products which are supposed to be the latest, the most innovative or brand-new products to targeted customers. This is because customers’ psychologies are easily drawn to new stuff. From my own perspective, the way businesses emphasise the alien features of their goods in their advertisements is a positive development. Unarguably, customers are prone to be impressed by new products, especially the latest versions of the ones they are using with the perception that the newest is the best. In fact, consumerism has been pushed to its peak when consumers increasingly crave for more entertaining products for their lives, especially when the labour sectors earn higher sources of income. Understanding this need of buyers, corporations tend to introduce new things with new features which make life more convenient, comfortable and joyful. To cite an example, in every short period of time, Apple introduces their latest versions of i-phone, watch or laptop. It is the same case for many other enterprises. As a result, the economy is boosted because people may replace their old stuffs with new ones and companies possibly make huge profits from that. The prosperity of individual companies means that a nation is thriving and flourishing. Moreover, more and more new products are produced prompts businesses to innovate or upgrade their products and creativity is encouraged. Hence, this will promote creative minds to work harder and healthy competitions among businesses in the same sectors happen. They are probably put under pressure to alter their conventional perspectives and produce more effective and low-cost products. In the end, not only do consumers benefit from reasonable and accessible products that are no longer the monopoly of any particular corporations but manufacturers themselves may gain higher revenue due to increasing consumption of their products. To illustrate, smartphones were luxurious items for many technophiles two decades ago, but these days, companies manufacturing cell phones is mushrooming namely Vivo, Samsung, Oppo, Xiaomi and Apple and these giants supply diverse choices of these indispensable gadgets for users at really acceptable prices. In conclusion, with this development, one can see the huge advantages it brings to our economy and society as a whole. As one can see, businesses should keep this orientation and add humanity and moral values to their products to produce products with longevity to them as what they advertise and I believe this is the key for stable development.