It is generally believed that some people are born with certain talents, for instance for sport or music, and others are not. However, it is sometimes claimed that any child can be taught to become a good sports person or musician. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is argued that some people have inborn talents for sport or music, and others do not have these traits; however, others would say that any young person can be taught to play sport or music at a very high level. This essay believes that although talented people find it easy to succeed, trainers and tutors can teach the very best athletes and musicians to succeed through tenacity and drive, not because of their innate abilities. Some argue that it is necessary to be born with a natural ability in order to excel in sport or music because such people seem to find it easy to do well. That is to say, from a young age they do not have to work hard and are just naturally better than most people in their chosen field. For example, Premier League football clubs routinely sign youth academy players from the age of 9 because they have natural, physical talent. However, I believe that talent is not the most important factor in success. For most children to really make it, they need to be taught that hard work can bring success. Many of the top performers in the world do have natural talent, but, as children, they were trained to work hard to perfect their skills. For example, although Cristiano Ronaldo was naturally gifted, what made him unique amongst his peers was the work ethic instilled in him by his youth coaches at Sporting CP. I agree that hard work is more important than talent. In conclusion, there are people who have talent built into their DNA, making it easy for them to achieve some level of success, but I believe that it is only through being taught to work hard that any child can become great at sport or music.