Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are crippled by gridlocked traffic. What are the possible solutions for these cities?

Owning a car has become mandatory in the present lifestyle. Increased traffic on city roads is creating chaos for people living in cities. The essay will discuss the reasons and possible solutions to overcome traffic issues in cities. Globalization has created a greater supply of different models of cars for a cheaper price which created artificial demand for personal vehicles. Customers are tempted to buy their vehicle as supply is increased. Public transport is poorly developed with the growing population which resulted in people preferring to drive on their own. Also, most of the people are lacking to plan their journey according to their schedule which is also forcing them to cover any delays by using their transport. Furthermore, poor traffic management system, lack of quality roads create congestions on roads. The government should monitor laws to control the prices of cars to control the excess demand. The introduction of technology to manage traffic and detouring the traffic in high volume areas at specific times will help to avoid congestions. Moreover, the government should invest to develop the public transport system by providing on-time service and by providing connecting services across the whole city. The governments should impose strict traffic rules to avoid accidents which could create traffic congestions. Decentralized development helps to decrease the population density and by doing that, the traffic will be diverted to different directions. In summary, increase in own transport resulted in traffic congestions in many cities but by proper development of other forms of transport and strictly imposed traffic rule along with the decentralized development could solve a part of the issue. However, this could be a long time never-ending process that should be monitored with high priority.