Many people believe that media coverage of celebrities is having a negative effect on children. To what extent do you agree?

Reading celebrity news is one of the most popular pastimes in the modern society, as people have always wanted to know more about the lives of their idols. Nevertheless, there is an increasing number of people who also believe that media coverage of celebrities has been impacting children in a negative way. In this essay I will discuss different views and provide my own ideas on this issue. Nowadays, it is not difficult to learn about the lifestyles of the public figures such as actors or singers, as you can frequently encounter news devoted to them in the newpapers or on the Internet websites. In the modern times of advanced technology pictures of celebrities' private life may appear instantaneously on Facebook or Instagram to their great admiration of their followers. In my opinion one of the reasons why a growing number of people believe that media coverage has a negative influence on the younger generation is that children will sometimes go to extremes in order to look or behave like their idols. Since famous people have not always been known for their moral excellency, imitation of their behaviour by children may lead to a moral degradation of young souls. Although this point of view is reasonable and has many supporters, I am of a slightly different opinion on this controversial issue. I believe that parents, as the guardians and protectors of their children's physical and mental well-being, should bear a share of responsibility for what kind of news and media reports their offsprings have access to. From my perspective, the role model of parents has a much greater impact on their children's development and formation of character than media coverage of celebrities has ever had. To conclude, I would like to reaffirm my position that the influence of celebrity news on younger generation is quite insignificant compared to the importance of the family environment on the mental health and development of children.