nNowadays, more and more children play computer games. Why do you think this is the case? Is it a positive or negative development?

The creation of video games dates back over 30 years, since then it has been a roller coaster of emotions and fun. However, in the last years parents noticed that kids are playing more and more, thus neglecting their homework and studies. The present essay will explain why this situation and also demonstrate why this is a negative phenomenon. First and foremost, there is ample, evident, yet daily explanations for this new tendency. To begin with the most obvious one, we should stress the fact that video games are ludicrously addictive, gamers can spend hours playing nonstop and they would not even notice. Secondly, gaming applications are now available on every device such as laptops, tablets and phones. Moreover, a recent survey published by a prestigious university illustrated that geeks play daily for at least 3 hours, which is an astonishing length, this new tendency can only lead to laziness and reluctance for studies. On the other hand, to answer the question of whether this is a negative or positive development,there are a plethora of arguments why in my opinion this actual phenomenon is negative. First of all, pupils should be developing their social skills, by playing with their fellows. In addition, teachers already stated that students are often tired or unable to focus during lectures because they did not have enough rest during the night. Furthermore, doctors warn about the dangers of screens, they assert that the blue lights emitted by screens can be harmful to the eyes, especially after long expositions. To sum up, parents and educators should be aware of the danger represented by this new trend. Nonetheless, gaming can help let off some steam if only it is done reasonably.