SOME PEOPLE THINK THAT STUDYING HISTORY IS A WASTE OF TIME. OTHER THINK IT IS ESSENTIAL TO LEARN HISTORY. DISCUSS BOTH VIEWS AND GIVE YOUR OWN OPINION.

In modern society, history is one of the most important subjects. While some think that learning history is a waste of time, others believe that it is vital. As far as I am concerned, studying the past is important in terms of the high valued relationships among nations. The first aspect to point out is that there is a belief that learning what happened in the past is a waste of time. This is because some focus on living in the present more than in the past. There are some social issues in the communities which affect our daily life. Therefore, it is understandable that solving these problems are prioritised for them. If those concerns were solved, there would be fewer problems in the future which would lead us to live a more comfortable life. However, it could be suggested that learning history is very important for everyone to enhance relationships in the communities. As globalisation has allowed us to travel around easily, individuals have more opportunities to communicate with other nationalities. It is a fact that there were many wars in the past which causes conflicts among people if they do not understand what happened in the past. Additionally, there was a record about the atomic bomb in Japan, the public learned the importance of peace in the world. In order to avoid having severe problems, individuals need to study history. To conclude, there is no doubt that people tend to focus on the present rather than the past, they need to study history in order to have high valued relationships and preserve the peaceful world in modern society.