The environmental problems facing today’s world are so significant that few ordinary people can improve this situation. The government and large companies should reduce the amount of damage to the environment. Do you agree or disagree?

With the increasing damages caused to our environment, there is a heated debate whether or not its contamination is too big for individuals to give a solution. Many people believe that only governing bodies and giant corporations should be mainly in charge of alleviating this problem. While I realize their roles, I still believe that both individuals and authorities can reduce environmental degradation. On the one hand, several plausible reasons why government campaigns and big corporations’ activities strongly impact the environment. The authorities should implement eco-friendly policies to encourage residents to ensure environmental protection and impose stringent punishment for destroying the environment. By introducing strict regulations, we can cut down the contamination and pollution. Besides, companies need to install a wastewater treatment system to reduce chemical hazards in the air, land, and water. Moreover, they may use alternative energy instead of consuming fossil fuel and generate more organic products. These actions could mitigate damage to the environment and achieve sustainable development. On the other hand, the pollution of our surroundings is a so-called chronic issue that can be coped with by every small action of each citizen. The action may be as simple as a gathering of neighbors to clean up and sort out trash collected in their areas. As a result, it brings positive benefits to the environment and enhances life quality. The second step is that the consumers are likely to replace plastic material with biodegradable packaging. Thirdly, people opt for using public transport or cycling instead of private driving cars and motors, hence eliminating a tremendous amount of carbon dioxide. In conclusion, despite the battle against environmental pollution seeming difficult for individuals, I believe that incorporating governing bodies and citizens is a great way to alleviate environmental problems.