Millions of people every year move to English speaking countries such as Australia, Britain or America, in order to study at school, college or university. Why do so many people want to study English? Why is English such an important international language?

Every year the number of people who immigrate to countries that have English as their mother tongues, such as America, Australia or Britain for education purposes. Due to the fact that people will get more opportunities for their career if they can speak more than two languages. Moreover, as English is a worldwide language, almost everyone in this world knows basic English; therefore everyone can communicate easily even if they are from different countries. First of all, the reason why many people in countries that do not have English as their first language choose to learn English and their second language is to be able to gain more opportunities in their life. As English is the most spoken language in the world it helps people to communicate with global citizens efficiently. In this case, those who can use English smoothly can gain more opportunities than others. Additionally, the main factor employers look at before they accept their new employees is language, if individuals can speak well in English that will become their strength. Moreover, many huge companies like Google, Amazon, and Microsoft are located in English speaking countries; therefore employees in these large companies are all able to speak English to allow them to connect with their co-workers. Secondly, as English is the most spoken language in the world it helps people to communicate with global citizens efficiently. Back in the past many countries in Asia, Africa have been colonie by Europeans or Americans. Accordingly, over 50 countries in this world have English as their official language. In fact, governments from many countries see that English has become critical these days so many schools provide English classes for students from the kindergarten level. As a result, after years of learning English, society knows at least basic English. In conclusion, English has been used globally for many decades. For someone who is able to use English efficiently will grow in their career path, and it has become an important language because over half of the world's population use this language.