The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think that this will lead to English becoming the only langusge to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

Thanks to the enhanced tourism sector, English has become the most popular language in the world. It is commonly believed that this phenomenon will involve English becoming a single language to be spoken universally. This situation has some advantages for other civilizations such as they can reach much more information easily. On the other hand, it has some disadvantages such as disappearing other languages. Initially, if English become a single language in the world, an increasing number of investigations will become more comprehensive and accessible for scientists, students etcetera. Moreover, this condition causes to broadening horizons of the human generation. Resources are may become more accessible and comprehensible to use in educational life by students or lecturers. For instance, in the medical industry in the past, a lot of information was written in Latin, and nowadays it is not easy to use it. Thus, if English was the single language in the world, maybe a plethora of medical revolutions was found until now. Nevertheless, this phenomenon can lead to the extinction of other languages. In addition, the culture of other societies, in which there are cultural heritages valuable for the future of the human generation, may be in danger of extinction. The Ottoman Turkish, which disappeared due to the unification of various cultures and languages in the Ottoman Empire, is an excellent example of this hypothesis. Hence, it appears that the dominance of a single language in the world carries a great risk for other cultures. To sum up, there are significant advantages and disadvantages of English being the only language in the world from a historical and cultural point of view.