In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do thier shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

In the capitalistic world, most people usually prefer using well-known brands, fast services and low prices. To reach that level of demand, local stores are struggling with a lack of manpower and equipment, likewise, only big manufacturers are able to meet the requirements. As a result, several small shops have closed. There is an argument whether it is a positive or negative impact which will be discussed in the following essay. First of all, it is undeniable that major manufacturers are equipped with heavy machinery, a large number of staff and systematic organization's workflows which are the keys to smooth production. For example, Starbuck has thousands of shops under its name and is able to supply the standard coffees as advertised. However, almost every item, especially drinks, are pre-packaged to ensure quality control during transportations and limit human error incidents. This method allows a timely manner of service while still maintaining the highest standard possible. On the other hand, the issue is raised that this process has major environmental impacts. For illustration, to transfer their products throughout the globe, various transportation methods are needed which requires a lot of single-use plastic packaging and also encourage industrial agricultural practices which destroy the environment in the nearby areas such as greywater or toxic gas production. In conclusion, both perspectives have their own benefits and drawbacks. Evidently, this essay supports the statement mentioning many small local shops went out of business because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping. In addition, the phenomenon is considered to lead to negative effects both to the environment and locals.