Some people think that only managers should make decisions in the company. while others think that employees should also be involved in the process of decision-making . Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Decision making is an important part of a company's operations and usually, they are made by managers. However, currently, the view that personnel should participate in the decision -making process is gaining popularity. This essay will explain both these perspectives and show the power of involving staff in making decisions. Firstly, considering the aspect of decision making by managers alone, one can see that this tradition stood companies in good stead in the past because most companies had restricted markets, limited to a small geographical area and the resultant turnover was also small. For instance, when Colgate began selling toothpaste, it operated in a single city and the decisions that needed to be taken were easily done by the manager. Hence, it is obvious that such a level of operations needs the efforts of only a few people at the top to achieve profitability. On the other hand, the involvement of employees in making choices is a modern felt need in the context of globalisation and growth in Information technology to manage global operations. In this scenario, it is crucial for ground-level staff to feed into decision -making processes with the knowledge they have at the implementation stage, which in turn helps in the understanding of local markets and the corresponding strategy for profit-making. For example, Tatas, an Indian global enterprise prides itself on employee participation in decision making at all levels and hence is popular as an employee-friendly workplace. Moreover, this philosophy has made them financially sound enough to take over an automobile giant like Land Rover. Therefore, if businesses want to be successful in this global marketplace, they have to function democratically rather than autocratically. In conclusion, one can emphatically say that staff involvement in decision making is the way forward if corporates want to be on the cutting edge of business because the magnitude of work in a worldwide context requires inputs from the rank and file of its workforce and not just those at the helm of affairs.