Some people think that zoos are cruel and should be closed down. Others however believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals. Discuss both opinions and give your own opinion.

It is argued that there should be no zoo because locking up animals in cages for their entire life is inhuman. Nevertheless, a portion of society says that zoos can help prevent wild animals from danger. This essay will look at two sides of these arguments and conclude that zoos provide great protection for wild animals from predators, diseases, and natural disasters. Plus, zoos keep animals away from extinction. Those who are against zoos point out that keeping wild animals in captivity deprives their freedom. Wild animals are kept in limited space, while they can run freely in forests. Moreover, their survival skills are detrimental and cannot be released to nature again. However, I find it hard to believe since there are plenty of zoos that try to mimic natural habitats and simulate their real living conditions such as having more than one species in one enclosure. Furthermore, zoo animals have a significantly longer lifespan than those that live in the wild due to great protection from predators, diseases and natural disasters. When it comes to plagues, the percentage of wild animals surviving is extremely low compared to animals in zoos. Additionally, many endangered species that experience difficulty in reproduction are bred by zoologists in zoos, thus resulting in less tendency to be extinct. A solid proof can be seen in Chiang Mai Zoo where pandas are successfully reproduced and are not considered endangered species anymore. From my point of view, the view that zoos keep wild animals in a cruel way is not true because zoos give paradise conditions for wild animals which are natural-like habitats, no hunters, no illness and injury. Besides, zoos are beneficial to wild animals in terms of conservation.