The internet has transformed the way information is shared and consumed, but it has also caused problems that did not exsit before. What are the most serious problems associated with the internet and what solutions can you suggest?

The internet has become one of the most integral parts of modern society. The internet has made information readily available and easy to consume by all age groups. However, the increasing usage of the internet has caused ample unforeseen issues. This essay will explore some serious problems and suggest possible solutions related to the internet. The initial intention of the internet was to serve as a tool to aid humans. Nowadays we see it having a more negative impact on society. Among its many problems, the impact it has on the mental health of the youth is quite chilling. Suicide rates among teenagers have increased at alarming rates globally due to social media consumption. Additionally, the internet has been the leading cause of misinformation. For instance, during the pandemic, we have seen the internet to be used as a tool to spread false information on vaccines and protective measures. The continual lack of control over information and users on many internet platforms have been seen to harm communities globally. However, there are multiple measures that can be taken in order to combat the aforementioned obstacles. Firstly, technological companies together with governing bodies can create a system to enforce age limits on internet platforms. For example, technological companies can create a method in which they can verify users age by cross-referencing with government records. Another method can be fact-checking informative posts. In particular, social media platforms could create software that confirms a post has two or more credible sources. By encouraging honest interactions and enforcing age limits many of the more serious issues of the internet can be easily curbed. In summary, this essay discussed the problems and solutions relating to the usage and consumption of information on the internet. As the world continues to undergo a technological revolution, it is important that individuals, government and technology companies collaborate, to ensure that technology aligns with human nature.