Write about the following topic. There are many people who go to live in different countries. To what extent should people be allowed to move freely between countries and live where they choose? What are the benefits and drawbacks of this? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Many people decide to move abroad and leave the countries they grew up in. It is currently discussed whether this decision should be made freely or not, as well as how beneficial this behaviour can be for the people involved. This essay will address these two issues in turn. I strongly believe every person should have the right to settle anywhere they want to, as the benefits of doing so outweigh its drawbacks. The first point to consider is that people should stay in the country which suits better their personal preferences. Societies are structured by different values and principles, and it is evident that citizens can relate to them more or less. Life is too short to waste time in places which don´t improve people ´s welfare. Thus, every person should have the right to live in a society they feel more comfortable within a cultural, religious and political frame. For instance, Christians can´t accept living in Muslim communities as they don´t share the same religious values. However, it is true that cultural barriers between countries can make it difficult for people to settle in new places. Prejudices and stereotypes may arise, resulting in a negative impact on the bond immigrants try to create in the new society. Nevertheless, if native people are open-minded, they will socially accept any visitor they meet. This way, people would educate themselves with new cultures, enhancing their knowledge. To sum up, there is an important contested trend by which people decide to live abroad. Citizens should make this decision freely to suit their personal preferences. This behaviour may result in a culturally enriching experience, though it can lead to social conflicts in particular situations. Personally, I hope societies will keep an open mindset and allow people to educate themselves by moving around the world freely.