In recent years, the family structure has changed, as well as family roles. What are the changes occurring? Do you think these changes are positive or negative? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is no doubt that over the last several years the family has undergone some changes such as memberships and their roles. In my opinion that has predominantly positive sides so this essay will consider some pros of that supporting my point of view by personal examples and the recent survey. Firstly, in the modern world people received the freedom to choose their own way to build their families. While some individuals tend to create a conventional type of family with a husband as a breadwinner and a wife as a housewife, others make a decision to be a single mother or allow a man to take care of children if a woman wants to continue her career. Apparently, that leads to creating more tight relationships between spouses because they can choose the most beneficial and comfortable path according to their own preferences and goals. For instance, despite community opinion my older sister and her husband took a solution to adopt a teenager which let them valuable experience in bringing up the child in such a difficult period. Moreover, they became a great example for other people who were concerned if they can take in their family an adolescent. Secondly, the diversity of possible options decreases the level of stress in a new generation. Although society is not completely ready to accept such changes, it is gaining popularity and as a result youngsters probably feel less pressure in their choices. For example, the recent survey by the local Russian psychological centre showed that more than 60% of respondents didn't judge people that decided to follow the non-traditional types of family and even are ready to support them. In conclusion, considering the fact that our world has shifted we cannot ignore new family structures because it brings the obvious advantages as new possibilities for motherless children and more favourable conditions for young people that are free in their choice.