In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

Majoring in a course after high school graduation can be both challenging and confusing. In many nations, some youngsters are advised to take up jobs or travel for a period of one year after senior high before deciding on what field of study to take on in the University. There are some merits and demerits of this decision and this essay will explain further. One advantage of taking out time after secondary school to tour or find a job is that it helps individuals to make better decisions on what program to apply for. For instance, within the period of time, this lad is encouraged to participate in jobs or tourism, they can develop an interest in a particular field of study which was different from what they had in mind while in high school. Most universities give students with years of experience an edge over others who probably went straight into college from senior high. In fact, working after a year of leaving secondary before joining higher institutions most times gives the youth a base into life in general. On the other hand, one possible disadvantage of working or touring before university is the drawbacks that come with the gap. For example; while participating in a paid job, the youth might become lazy to return to the academy or even get greedy as a result of the income they are making, at this point, they may become discouraged. Consequently, even while visiting places, a female student might get pregnant and if she does not have a good support system, that may be the end of her dreams. In conclusion, the cons of this decision outrightly outweigh the pros. In my opinion, youngsters should be advised to continue with their studies in other to avoid unnecessary setbacks.