People these days watch TV, films and other programmes alone rather than with other people. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, there are some people who prefer to watch TV alone rather than with other people. The disadvantages of this trend outweigh their benefits. As people are more isolated and more electricity will be consumed. This essay will discuss both ideas in depth in the following paragraphs. Firstly, watching TV programs alone means the highest possibility of isolation from others. Because there are more communications will take place when the individuals are watching something together. For example, if there is a TV show for selecting the best voice, there will be more discussions or even arguments among watchers. Without other people, these discussions and/or arguments are not possible, which eventually enhance the feeling of isolation. As a result, this drawback outweighs any other benefit of watch television alone. Secondly, if everyone uses the television and watches it alone, that is means a high amount of electricity will be needed for the house. In the other words, watching TV by each family member at a separate time will require more electricity than it should be. In Libya, for instance, the amount of electric current consumed by each house increased by 45% in the 1970s, when there was a spread of televisions among family members. Without watching TV by each member alone, the electricity consumed will not be increased into the higher figures. Therefore, more electricity will be lost which outweigh the other advantages of watching TV alone. In conclusion, watching TV alone is becoming a controversial issue. This essay discussed that the disadvantages of this trend outweighed their benefits either by enhancing the feeling of isolation in many people or by consuming more amount of electricity.