In some countries, owning a home rather than renting one is very important for people. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

People from a number of countries consider purchasing a flat rather than renting one to be a vital factor in their lives. In my opinion, the sense of belonging owning a home gives people can give rise to this thought. I am also convinced that it is not potentially a negative situation although under certain circumstances. I am of the opinion that having their own house will give some individuals the feeling that they belong to a certain location and people. When they live in a neighbourhood for a long time, they become familiar with the location and get to know other people well. Whereas in a rental home, some people find it hard to feel ‘’ home ’’ in the first place, as they know their stay is temporary. Even though they regard where they live as their ‘’ home ’’, if they were compelled to change it one day due to different reasons, some of them can not leave all the friendships and habits established in the former place. I further believe that regarding owning a home as an important factor, is not negative unless it becomes a sign of wealth in a society. It is an undeniable fact that all over the world, there are some households who find it hard to afford to buy a house due to financial issues. If culture and society impose this thought on families that buying a house plays a vital role in their lives, they will be forced to buy a flat although they can not bear the costs. Public awareness should be raised towards other positive effects of owning a home, not its financial importance. To conclude, it is my view that the reason why having their own flat becomes crucial for some people may be the fact that they tend to get used to all the things related to that home and neighbourhood. Moreover, I believe that if this case becomes financially important, it can have several drawbacks on the culture and society.