Nowadays, more and more people choose to do their shopping onlineinstead of going to physical stores. Why is this so? What are the disadvantages of this trend?

Nowadays, online shopping has showcased a tremendous soar in the past decade, as it appealed to many people around the globe. It is conspicuous that the internet has taken the shopping trend to another level. This essay will illustrate the reasons behind this tendency and dive deeper into its drawbacks. First and foremost, e-commerce has brought a myriad of advantages to individuals. Indeed, the main purpose was to ease transactions as it led to purchasing orders with a simple click. Citizens are able to do this task from their homes without wasting time on going to physical stores. Due to technological improvements, our society had to adapt itself. Therefore, multinational companies straightforwardly rolled up their sleeves to provide a game-changing platform that will enable people to buy their clothes from any country. For instance, Jeff Bezos, who is the founder of Amazon, created this site that can deliver any order in several countries within two weeks. On the other hand, it is undeniable that e-commerce has illustrated numerous drawbacks. In other words, individuals lost huge amounts of money on fake websites. The most frightening fact about this tendency is that it has led many people to fall for scams. Swindlers have always been grasping citizens' attention by proposing expensive clothes for a cheap price that obviously they will not deliver. However, the majority of the inhabitants who falls for scams do not make a complaint to the police. For example, a recent survey conducted in the US illustrated that 80% of the population who face this issue, neither share it with their friends or family nor file a grievance. To sum up, the advantages of this trend outweigh the drawbacks. Yet, individuals should be careful while using this tool and select appropriately the shopping sites. Hence, they will avoid losing large amounts of money.