Nowadays, more and more people choose to do their shopping onlineinstead of going to physical stores. Why is this so? What are the disadvantages of this trend?

Technology development and enhancement caused tremendous upheavals amongst society; numerous services are now provided by the internet such as paying bills, booking hotels and shopping as well. The present essay will try to explain this new tendency, moreover, demonstrate the main advantages and disadvantages of this phenomenon. First and foremost, it is undeniable that online shopping is today widely used by internet customers. Individuals from all around the globe fostered this new tool due to all the benefits they could derive. Firstly, companies and fashionable trademarks created numerous platforms for online shoppers, they can now virtually shop, command and pay. Secondly, certified websites are completely secure and reliable, enhancing trust among users. As an example, a recent survey carried out on a sample of 1000 persons illustrated that at least one person out of three uses apps and phones to buy their daily needs, the study stated that the results have known a significant rise, especially during the pandemic lockdown. On the other hand, it is certain that many advantages and inconvenient may arouse from this new trend. For instance, websites such as Alibaba or Wish cannot be trusted as many users complained about scams and poor-quality service. Moreover, there is no jurisdiction, and people can hardly get refunds when unsatisfied. Fortunately, governments and experts are bent on enforcing new laws for e-commerce, hopefully, this will help online platforms gain trust and credibility. To sum up, the internet provides a wide range of options for its buyer. However, individuals are still required to learn how to make a wise utilization of this tool, thus it is the onus of governments to protect citizens from the dangers they may encounter.