Some people think that using traditions as attractions for money-making will destroy our culture, but others think that there is nothing wrong with attracting tourists that way. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is argued whether cultural values will be negatively affected when people take advantage of traditions to make profits or that tourism strategy is acceptable and harmless. Although the former view can be true to some extent, in my opinion, the latter view seems to be more reasonable owing to several reasons below. On the one hand, there are numerous reasons why some people hold a view that attracting tourists by traditional customs can pose a threat to the national culture. First of all, using traditions for money-making purposes can underestimate the spiritual values of those long-standing customs. In other words, younger generations may not be aware of the responsibility for preserving and spreading good values from their ancestors, but they just regard traditions as a means to earn money. In the long run, valuable traditions can be ignored and lost, harming the unique national identity of a country. Besides, being lured by the power of money, many traditional customs can be totally adapted to suit tourists’ demands, which also contributes to fading the important values within the pass-on traditions. On the other hand, I hold a firm belief that using traditions as a way to develop the tourism industry is justifiable and should be encouraged. The first reason supporting my view is that exchanging cultural features to foreign visitors through tourism can enrich the culture of a nation. Vietnam, for example, is comfortable and confident to introduce Vietnamese traditional values as well as adopt good traditions from other countries such as the USA, China and Japan. By doing so, new generations in Vietnam not only are instilled with traditional customs through education from parents and schools but they also become global citizens who are open-minded with the cultural differences. Besides, that strategy can be beneficial to tourism development, bringing economic gains to a nation. In fact, humans are likely to be curious about different cultures, so using cultural differences can attract more overseas visitors and make significant contributions to the GDP as a result. In conclusion, I accept that making money from traditions can somehow have detrimental effects on the cultural traits, yet I still strongly argue that people should not consider that way as something wrong and unacceptable because of the aforementioned benefits such as chances to enrich the culture and a boost for the national economy.