In recent times, economic growth has helped many become richer, both in developed and developing countries. However, those in developed countries are not as happy as they were in the past. Why is this? What can be learned from this?

Nowadays, there has been a controversy regarding whether economic development has supported individuals to become wealthier in both developed and developing countries or not. On the other hand, some believe that those who are living in developed countries are still not satisfied as they were in the past. This essay will explore two major reasons why people are dissatisfied and the lessons learned from this situation. One significant reason why people are unhappy with their current lives is possibly due to environmental issues. To expand this, the exploitation of natural reasons has played a crucial role in contributing to this problem. For example, it is reported that some high class individuals in the United States may prefer to use private jets that consume a higher amount of fuel, which can lead to increased air pollution. Consequently, the majority of individuals will eventually have to look after their physical health issues such as respiratory problems. Additionally, the harmful effects on environmental issues can serve as a lesson for the government to take action from this weakness by avoiding repeating the same mistakes in the future, as well as by raising the awareness of their citizens. Moreover, the intensity of racial discrimination is also an important factor prevalent in developed countries. For instance, an increase in immigrants owing to World War II in 1945 or political issues in Korea could be an underlying reason for some Korean immigrants. Because of this, the conflicts between people in the countries could be raised from a clash between perspectives and racial stereotypes along with verbal or even physical abuse. As a result, it can be mitigated by the role of education, including educating young children about racial diversity and respecting other traditions. In conclusion, although the growth in economic development is successful in both developed and developing countries, there might be some ongoing conflicts or unsolvable problems in the society that can potentially affect their citizens’ lifestyle.