Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (For example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the world today, we seek to have a better society where youths can be accountable. Many people believe that engaging high schoolers in volunteer service in the community such as helping out in charity, improving the locality or instructing lads on sports should be made mandatory as a scheduled curriculum. This essay strongly agrees with the nation that volunteer work should be made compulsory. One of the merits of engaging youths in this service would be because it helps develop their social skills as they would need this in other to interact with others to complete a project. For instance, a youngster who is an introvert can meet with people, make friends and also learn to interact. This will help them build their self-confidence especially when they are in the position to direct younger kids. In addition, having this skill especially in can also help in boosting their chances of choosing a better choice when planning to further their education in the university. During this period of free service, they may decide to major in a field that is similar to what they had practised in the compulsory community work. For example, a student who participated in a cancer clinic may decide to become a doctor or a nurse in other to assist society better. In fact, this helps them in making a life-changing decision that can affect their lives in the long run. In conclusion, I strongly believe that the period of this unpaid favour helps in building a more responsible adult.