These days many kids spend a lot of their time playing computer games instead of doing sports. What is the cause of this? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In the present day, with the advance of technology, the presence of online games and video games have become increasingly popular among children. It is noticeable that they spend plenty of time in indoor games rather than outdoor activities. While some adults claim this behaviour is ordinary, others believe that is essential to pay attention to the consequences. From my point of view, this is a negative development by virtue of disadvantages. First and foremost, one of the main causes is overexposure to technology. Nowadays living in a fast-paced world, a bunch of children has access to a cellphone, laptops and other gadgets since earlier. Moreover, the usage of computers not only to play, through games, but also to study at schools is considered crucial in order to improve the learning, however, it is of paramount importance a perfect balance. Secondly, another cause for this situation is the lack of attention of some parents. In other words, some children are overlooked due to the hectic schedule of their parents who are working a lot. Therefore, without specific supervision, many young ones spend a lot of time in front of screens instead of playing outside such as riding a bike with others. Finally, this development may result in negative consequences since these young individuals are not practising some type of exercise resulting in health disorders. For instance, according to research published by Harvard University, young people who spent time just playing computer games have three times more risks of obesity and heart disease in the future. Furthermore, the risk of depression and crises of anxiety is much higher in this population. In conclusion, computer games may help them ameliorate their learning, however, the excess has been perilous for health. Parents and schools ought to promote healthy activities so as to improve the quality of life resulting in a better lifestyle.