Some people think that newspapers are the best way to learn about current events. However, others believe that they can learn news better through other media. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In the modern era of technology, some people still believe that newspapers are the most efficient way of staying updated, while others believe in social media. I belong to the alternate group and rely upon Twitter or Facebook to enhance my general knowledge. This essay will, firstly, discuss arguments for the former/latter claim and secondly analyze the opposing viewpoint and lastly draw a reasonable conclusion. In past, the newspaper was the most popular and reliable source of information. So, even today it is considered to be more trustworthy as compared to crowd driven social media. Also, there exists a vast population who are not acquainted with modern gadgets either because of lack of resources or an appropriate skillset. The best example to represent this group would be, old generation and people in rural areas. Hence, the charm of newspapers is still alive. Alternatively, digitization has spread its reach even to media and now the news is just a click away. Irrespective of time or place, one can know what's happening around the globe using the internet over an appropriate device such as a mobile or laptop. For instance, these days a natural calamity like an earthquake can be reported within a few minutes, therefore enabling instant help to the ones in need. To conclude, if one is well versed with using the internet and smart devices, then the pros of using the same outweigh the ancient approach of newspapers. Also, the switch from newspapers will be an advantage to the environment as we will reduce the consumption of paper and consequently save trees.