Many people believe that international tourism has negative implication on their countries. What is the reason for it? What can be done to change the negative attitude towards international tourism?

It is not hard to understand from the locals’ perspective that the overwhelming numbers of tourists have negative impacts on their daily lives. I believe the authorities shall introduce laws to clamp down on certain behaviour from tourists in order to reduce the negative impacts on locals' lives. There are plenty of obvious reasons that the residents dislike international tourism. Firstly, the old town or some historical streets are often packed with sightseers, which add inconvenience to those people living in the city. Secondly, some tourists misbehave when they are visiting tourists ’ attractions such as speaking loudly or bare-chested. Most importantly, if a place is filled with tourists all year round, the living cost of that area would surge significantly without a doubt. None of the original residents would be willing to see that happen. To change the city residents' negative attitude to international tourism, the local government should introduce new regulations to guide international tourists to behave properly in the future. Also, to cap the number of tourists entering some crowded places every day is another key solution. For example, the Bruges authorities limited the number of visitors on board every day. Moreover, every tourist should follow the local governments’ guidance and respect the local customs and people. From my own experience, I know in some areas, such as in Japan, a certain gesture is considered rude. Therefore, we should avoid gestures to show our respect. Overall, it is not uncommon that people don’t like see others wading around in their cities but I believe the negative reaction from the locals will be alleviated if the above change could be made.