Some school leavers travel or work for a period of time instead of going directly to the university. What are the advantages or disadvantages?

Deciding career pathways and academic pathways immediately after graduating from high school is a controversial topic in society. Many people hold the opinion that enrolling on further education has many benefits. Others, however, believe that there are many more drawbacks to becoming undergraduate students. Whilst, entering an educational institution soon after year 12 is advantageous in a few aspects, I agree that there are much more positivities of taking gap years for travelling and working because of opportunities to gain life experience and to earn their living. On the one hand, there are two most considerable disadvantages of taking gap years which are wasting their and deteriorating academic skill. While the majority of school leavers go to university to acquire knowledge, they will obtain a degree after three years of working hard. Those students who take gap years, obviously are left behind by their peers. Moreover, as the result of inconsistent learning, they might be losing academic skills such as literacy or discipline. For example, if the school leavers enrol for a course after three years of travelling or working when they start as undergraduate students, students being in their age probably start security jobs take another step for post-graduation. On the other hand, the benefits of travelling and working after high school significantly outweigh the shortcomings. Firstly, instead of becoming full-time university students, they can become full-time workers to have a stable income. Hence, they can be financially independent which means they have less pressure when they go back to educational institutions later. In addition, some students have no idea what career they want to pursue in the further, so they can take gap years to explore their personal preferences. For example, if they want to become healthcare workers, they can start with personal care workers or patient transporters to get familiar with the hospital environment. In conclusion, some students consider not taking gap years due to the fear of being left behind by their peers and the need of relearning their academic skills. Gap years, however, can bright to a number of benefits such as becoming independent in terms of financial aspects and choosing carefully their dreamed careers. In my opinion, the way of spending their time after high school is varied from person to person but having time to decide what they really want could be positive for most the students.