As countries develop, more and more people buy and use their own cars. Does the advantage of this for individuals outweigh the disadvantage for the environment?

Personal vehicles, especially cars are increasingly being used by today's generation as they became a necessity in life, and also provide social status. Although personal cars are more convenient for travelling, it has some detrimental effects on nature. This essay will explain why the merits of a car cannot outweigh the demerits. It is a fact that, today, more and more people prefer to travel by car as it provides comfortable means of transportation. For instance, cars offer a lot of luxuries such as an air -conditioner, entertainment and cushioned seats, which is not possible in public transportation like buses and cabs. Moreover, individuals are more likely to buy a car when they are getting married or when they have a baby in order to have a safe and hygienic journey. Due to the aforementioned reasons, we can say that purchasing a car can be a benefit for people. In the contrast to the above, introducing more cars on the road can inevitably lead to environmental degradation. Firstly, the cars exhaust toxic fumes and greenhouse gases into the air at the time of operation, which can undoubtedly lead to a hike in air contamination. For example, recent research which was conducted in Amsterdam has shown that private vehicles have a major contribution to air pollution, almost 20% of the pollution is caused by private cars. In addition, car manufacturing industries utilise a huge amount of water for production, which will not only contribute to a scarcity of water in the future but also it will pollute the air, water and soil, and make our earth the worst place to leave. To conclude, a majority population use their own car rather than relying on public transport. Even though it has some short term benefits, it creates a lot of environmental issues that can be dangerous to human existence as well.