Some people suggest that international news should study as a subject in secondary school. However, others say that it will be a waste of valuable school time. Discuss both views and give your opinion

The importance of global news is at its peak nowadays. While many people believe that it must be added as an academic subject in the secondary level of formal educational institutes, others disagree by arguing that it will destroy valuable academic time. I will discuss both perspectives and opine for the latter group. With regards to studying, international news, as an academic subject, will give exposure to the events going on around the world in terms of economics, politics, technology, etc. All those topics are closely connected to almost everything happening in our lives and the country as a whole because it's a global world, and there is no way to deny it. For example, the computers we use daily for accomplishing almost every academic or professional task of our lives are made of components produced in various parts of the world. So one small change in those manufacturing areas can significantly impact our daily lives and, therefore, everything we do. So we must make every citizen aware of global changes, and introducing the topic at an earlier age will make it easier for everyone to learn. On the other hand, there are a lot of important subjects like mathematics, language, science, etc. Students should seriously focus on and ensure enough time and effort to become true experts in those fields. A nation depends on its experts in various fields, so academic institutions need to emphasize those topics in the existing class schedule. If a new subject is introduced that has no direct implications on the nation's overall development, then it might build pressure on schools' existing tight schedules. Moreover, other topics might get negatively affected to allocate space for the subject mentioned above. Also, if schools try to incorporate every new thing available out there, that would be impossible because there are many valuable topics like programming, personal finance, and others. I nevertheless believe that the significance of knowing about what's going around the world is critically important for any nation as it has serious impact on almost every aspects of life. It is unlike any other just useful category which can be left for people's own interest, instead international news has value for a nation's collective interest. Therefore, the advantages clearly supersede the negative aspects, and as a result I think its appropriate to introduce international news as a new subject in secondary levels. To sum up, there is no dispute about the importance of international news, but contradictory views exist whether it should be inaugurated as a subject in secondary level or not. From the above discussion, I think the suggested subject should be included in the academic education in secondary school level as its benefits far exceed the negative side effects.