Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays a large group of community have an opinion that goverments government should work hard and put a huge fund on investing railroads rather than highways.To a certain points, I would agree with this statement,because railway networks are more portable, safer, economical and environment_friendly. As far as safety and portability concerned, the railway system offer safer and portable commuting system for both citizens and goods.To cue evidence, evidently trains can carry hundreds of people and tonnes of goods at a same time, but on the other hand vehicles like buses, trucks and cars can carry only a few. Moreover, as all we can see and hear in news stories the number of road accidents is higher than railway accidents. So, railway transpontation increase safety and it obviously could be beneficial for both people and goverment governments alike. On the other hand, from the environmental and economical point of view, railways produce less amount of greenhouse gases to compare with road transport system and as a result of this issue the total cost of transport decrease. For instance,annual greenhause gas emissions by highways tranepont in Iran is approximately 13, 2%,but on the other sector which is railway systems is about 6.7%.To draw a conclusion trains and metro can help us to save our planet. In conclusion, safety and environmental issues are literally important factors for governments in transportation.So depend on rails and spend budget for it is much more rational.In my opinion, governments should focus on quality of vehicles and transport system rather than quantity of them.