The only way to improve safety on our roads is to give much stricter punishments for driving offences. What extent do you agree or disagree?

Safety management has been a hotly-debated topic in modern roads.Some of the individuals are of the opinion that the sole way to manage safety on our roads is to impose heavy penalties on the contravening driving laws.In my view, this is a grey area that not only need punishment but also education. Punishments to various offences have proven to be effective. Firstly,if an individuals commit a traffic offence a penalty should be levelled against the perpetrator, this is done in order to deter others from committing the same offence. Furthermore,the person will not repeat the same offence again because of the punishment that accompanies the act. Secondly,whenever penalties are applied the main reason is because of the law.To illustrate this various traffic acts are enlisted in the constitution, and they are imposed in order to fulfil the constitutional mandate. For instance,the report released by the National Road Management indicated that 80% of the victims were found to be guilty of the offence when the laws were applied. Thus, punishment not only deters the members of the state but also it is within the constitution bill that they are to be employed. On other hand, another school of thought oppose the idea of punishment as the only way to road safety. First of all, education is another way of improving safety on roads rather than punishment.If the motorists are taught some of the safety measures,they will not commit the offence,, Moreover education is power.Another significant issue,the ruling government should build good roads and put the signs for the users to follow, this measure has been found to be effective. For instance, recent research on the danger signs on various black spots has reduced the road carnage by half. Therefore, education,quality roads and proper signs on roads are the other ways of improving road safety. To sum up, although punishment may seem to be the only way for safer measures,providing improved roadways and a learning platform for road users are imperative. Additionally, erecting a signpost is an equally important measure of safety precaution.