Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organization. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

These days, there is an increasing inclination of people towards self-employment instead of being staffs of certain companies or organizations. This is possibly because the independence they can enjoy when working for themselves or the opportunities to earn more money. However, there are certain drawbacks of this option such as working without any profit, more responsibilities and the risks of bankruptcy. The first reason why there are a lot of individuals who choose to start their own businesses rather than working for others is rooted in the fact that they probably have more freedom and independence. Anyone who is self-occupied may be under less pressure than those who have jobs in a company due to flexible working hours, no deadlines and no conflicts with colleagues or seniors. That means these people can decide when to work and when to take a break, there is no boss who pressurizes them to be more productive and it is even true that there is no co-worker around that judges them. To illustrate, a research carried out by Charles King on the level of pressure between a group working with their own businesses and a group under the control of companies showed that independent workers experience less stress than the other group because of similar reasons. Another cause of this trend is that many self-employees believe that they are able to make a more affluent source of income. That is all profits are possessed by them without any division and the more these people expand their businesses, the more income they yield. To cite an example, under the government of a company or an organization, a person can possibly earn an average of 1000$ per month, but for self-employed people, that sum of money can be multiplied to dozen thousands of dollars. There are three prime disadvantages of self-employment. Firstly, the risk takers are prone to financial predicament. In fact, not many new entrepreneurs achieve success in the first place and make a huge fortune immediately. Sometimes, they may just be able to earn a modest living or even left without a penny in the first few years. In this case, their lack of experiences might be to blame for the problems and experiences can only be gained through failures and time. Secondly, becoming the owners of their own enterprises means that more responsibilities are taken. They must make the right decisions for their businesses and hire employees as well as manage their human resources. Other responsibilities include striking good relationships with customers and providers and maintain them, caring for the benefits of the people who work for them or collaborate with them. Finally, anyone who chooses to work for their own perhaps has not envisaged the fact that their business might go bankrupt. A dire consequence of an ineffective business is to sell your property to others to pay your debts and this issue is exacerbated by an increasingly competitive market where there are more and more start-ups. The affair of Johnson Green in Washington D.C in 2019 is a good case in point. He used to be the CEO of a well-known commercial company, but then he quitted his position in 2017 and started his own company. After two years in the business, his family did not have the ability to return the enormous debt he had borrowed from the national bank and his company went bankrupt. In conclusion, it is indisputable that new self-occupants can have great independent status and make more money when deciding to work for themselves. And once they embark on their own businesses, working without rewards for a certain period of time, being responsible for numerous things and facing the risk of being unable to pay their debts may be inevitable for them.