Many people work long hours, leaving very little time for leisure activities. Does this situation have more advantages or more disadvantages?

It is argued that nowadays a major section of the society is engaged in their work for a longer period of time and spare considerably less time for recreational activities. This phenomenon has more demerits than merits. While it might improve a person’s financial status, it also hurts their mental and physical health and family life. To begin with the positive side, working for long hours will definitely increase earnings. In other words, if people devote much of their time to their job/ work, they will earn hefty salaries. As a result, this will increase their financial stability and make luxurious lifestyles affordable to them. To illustrate, as people are becoming more work oriented these days, their living standards are also improving when compared to past. On the other hand, these extended periods of time at work places and limited free time have detrimental effect on their health. In other words, the workaholic individuals tend to suffer from mental and physical issues like anxiety, depression, high blood sugar levels and obesity due to stress and lack of refreshment. For example, the data published by WHO stated that around sixty percent of the working professionals in India suffer from myriads of health problems due to the stress of long working hours. Furthermore, this trend adversely affects the social life of individuals. Since people lack free time due to work, they may be unable to provide quality time to the family and friends. Hence, this leads to social detachment, makes their life monotonous and affects overall wellbeing and happiness. To conclude, though the trend of working long hours enhances the economic / financial stability, the deleterious consequences on health and social wellbeing overrides the positive outcomes