Some people believe that it is essential to include Physical Education classes in the curriculum for all school-age children. Others think that children's time is better spent on more academic subjects. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Physical education has been always a debatable subject. While some people believe that children should have some physical activities in school, others argue that schools ought to focus more on academic success. The two sides of this argument will be thoroughly analysed in this essay before drawing a reasoned conclusion. There are many arguments for the inclusion of Physical Education in the curriculum. Firstly, students nowadays spent far too much of their time playing video games on their computers or phones. This can lead to a sedentary lifestyle and obesity. Also, some children don’t do well in academic subjects such as math and science and should be given more opportunities to discover other areas to find out what they want to do in their life. Another argument is the high rate of accidents due to the lack of space for children to play in. Therefore, students could have the chance to play safely inside their schools. When it comes to arguments against the inclusion of Physical Education in schools, many people, that society needs more engineers, searchers and scientists. Also, this present world is becoming so competitive that getting good grades and getting into university is a priority. Moreover, it is parents who should be responsible for their children by encouraging them to be more physically active, not educational bodies. Finally, spending more time on academic topics is essential to get high-paying jobs in the future To sum up, it is well known that studying core subjects such as mathematics, foreign languages and science, for example, is essential for children to function in today’s society. However, we need to give our kids the chance to decide by themselves what they want to do. We can’t make them become scientists or sportspeople if they don’t want to, but we can help them moderate their time to stay healthy and still well-educated. I personally believe a balance must be struck in the curriculum and physical education must have a place in children ’s school life.