The media plays a valuable role in keeping us informed and entertained. However, many people believe it has too much power and freedom. Discuss both views and give your own opinion?

News and journalism play an important role in the rapid dissemination of important information. Some people believe that the media plays a pivotal role in the spread of news while making it enjoyable at the same time whereas others believe that they hold an unreasonable amount of power and liberty. In this essay, I will discuss both opinions and explain why I believe that the liberty and power they have albeit unreasonable sometimes are the reasons why are in the know. On the one hand, it is widely accepted that media is important for the smooth flow of information locally and internationally. For instance, there are situations where lives were saved in cases of hurricanes or extreme weather conditions. Furthermore, there is also the small matter of the spread of data about election results, celebrity gossip and information on stocks. Therefore, it is clear that there is content created to entertain all types of audiences. The more the media thrives, the more informed the general public is. On the other hand, it is also believed that power and freedom lead to undesirable outcomes. There are notable cases of abuse of power where professional athletes are asked disrespectful questions. For example, two of the defenders from a popular football franchise walked out after being asked a distasteful question by a reporter. Moreover, there are also instances where the members of the media invade the privacy of politicians and celebrities. This, in turn, leads people to believe that media has way too much power. In my opinion, journalists and reporters need the freedom and power they have to be able to deliver the information we need on a regular basis to keep us informed. However, they should also be made aware of their responsibilities regularly so that they do not come off as invasive. In conclusion, while I believe that both points have merit, it is my opinion that the liberty and power that the media has are the reasons why we are informed while being entertained. Hence, I do not agree that they have too much of either. Having said that, they should be made aware of their responsibilities regularly.