Advertisements are becoming more and more common in everyday life. Is it a positive or negative development?

The developments of mass media have led to the popularity of advertising. Personally, I believe this phenomenon has both beneficial and detrimental sides. There are two main benefits of advertisements that I can point out. Firstly, the existing and newly-launched products can both be promoted. Thanks to advertisements, the goods will be widely recognized and earn a reputation through many forms such as commercials, billboards, endorsements, etc... To illustrate the point, the tech giant Apple has successfully applied the posters to advertise their brand new iPhone 13 series products and gained a higher profit by 4% than the previous year. Secondly, customers can also benefit from advertisements ’ knowledge. Specifically, commercials can supply all sorts of people with useful information about the goods, for example, regarding healthcare and eating habits. Simultaneously, there are still some drawbacks that advertisements bring back. Many of advertisers create misleading impressions of their goods. In reality, their items were of inferior quality but the advertisers exaggerated them for their own interests. For instance, Snapchat used to mislead customers into thinking that pictures disappeared forever. Afterwards, the company was also accused by the FTC of collecting customer data. In addition, advertising can also cause a great burden for the companies. In other words, to be advertised on TV, businesses have to pay for a huge amount of money. In conclusion, advertisements can have both benefits and drawbacks to daily life. From my observation, the companies can advertise for their products but not abuse them.