Advantages and disadvantages of tourism in the modern world

Over the last decades, tourism has become one of the largest industries in the world. Majority of people have some concerns about this situation. There are some benefits and drawbacks of tourism, and they will be discussed in this essay. One of the primary advantages of tourism is boosting the country’s economy, as it acts as a source of economy for both government and local people. For instance, when tourists arrive in a country, they tend to spend their money on a broad range of services and goods, including transportation, amusements, food, hotels, and even medical. Another advantage worth noting is that tourism promotes international connections which can increase business opportunities. In other words, tourism brings investment opportunities from wealthy foreign investors. For example, in many countries, government focus on tourism sector more in order to enhance the economy of the country On the other hand, tourism can have an influence on local culture. In this way historical buildings, monuments can be damaged by tourists. In addition, it can have adverse effects on the environment. Some people argue that these may gradually destroy nature such as many forest areas becoming a large number of resorts and hotels, or tourists can cause pollution due to use of plastic stuffs. To conclude, tourism can be advantageous in the modern world in terms of economic development and international connection. However, it has some disadvantages such as environmental pollution and damage to culture.