In recent years, there has been growing interest in the relationship between equality and personal achievement. Some people believe that individuals can achieve more in egalitarian societies. Others believe that high levels of personal achievement are possible only if individuals are free to succeed or fail according to their individual merits. What is your view of the relationship between equality and personal success

Nowadays, it is believed that people tend to be more successful in egalitarian societies, while others believe that achieving high levels is only possible if human beings are free to succeed or fail according to their personal merits. In my opinion, it is necessary to have equality in order to give all individuals equal possibilities to achieve their full potential and this way they will be able to free succeed in society. To start with, it is a matter of fact that personal accomplishments are possible if individuals are free to succeed or fail according to their effort and pursue their goals. This is called Meritocracy, where people develop themselves and have achievements because of their effort. To illustrate this, when someone tries to enter the University and studied hard for that and pass the exam. It is was through their merit of passing and being there. This would be perfect if all humans had the same rights in community. However, this is not the reality in most of the countries in the world. For instance, Brazil was the last country worldwide to abolish slavery in 1888, which means the African descendants were left with no support, no income and illiterate. This was three previous generations from the actual one, which still does not have the same access to education, good schools and consequently high job positions. Therefore, this is hard to be based in a meritocratic society when individuals from the same population do not have the same access to basic rights such as education. To conclude, the idea of people being free to pursue their personal achievements freely and through their merits would work if we have an egalitarian society where all individuals have the same chances of achievements. Thus, prosperous societies will give opportunities to everyone equally.