Some people say that music is a good way of bringing people of different cultures and ages together. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is often said that music is a great way of bringing people from different cultures and ages together. I extremely agree with this sentence, since song brings excitement and happiness for people, regardless of their origin or even when in time they were born. This essay will explain why I believe this is true. Even if songs can be regional and quite different in diverse cultures, listening to or playing melodies is a manifestation used in humankind from the very beginning. Regardless of the spoken language, it is a way of communication and expression of feelings even when you cannot fully understand the other expression and language. To illustrate this was back in 1980, the song “we are the world” when Michel Jackson together with Lionel Richie wrote this single to raise money for an African charity. This event was quite remarkable of the image of having a great range of popstar in that time singing together for the same reason. Thus, this initiative was launched worldwide and become a single until now, where individuals of all ages recognise the meaning. Moreover, with globalisation, music became something very connected all over the world. For instance, the unique musical genre in Brazil called “Pagode”, which is played with a set of local instruments such as cavaquinho and banjo, can be found in Japan. Another example is Latin genres such as salsa being famous worldwide. Therefore, music gives people the chance to interact to learn more about other cultures. In conclusion, from the arguments presented above, it is conceivable to believe that music is an inspirational way of connecting people from all ages and different backgrounds together, creating shared experiences between people.