International travel has become more affordable and many countries are opening their doors to increase the number of tourists. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

As the affordability of international excursion has increased, the states are trying to appeal to a larger host of travellers’ day by day. This essay will examine the upsides and downsides of that tendency. One evident advantage of excursion is its contribution to economic development. Tourists spend money on a wide range of services, including hotels, amusements, shops, restaurants, food and medical amenities. Therefore, driving industry yields a great sum of money that boosts the economy of the country. Another benefit worth mentioning is that touristry can contribute to the conservation of touristic sites. To elaborate, foreigners tend to visit historical places, landscapes, particularly the landmarks of the country and these landmarks can be in the form of churches, mosques, cathedrals, monuments, etc. So that government’s utmost priority becomes carrying out regular maintenance of such sites in order for the sightseeing industry to flourish. On the other hand, in spite of myriad beneficial aspects, there are a number of downsides as well. One of the most observed factors is non-compliance of tourists. Sometimes, they do not conform with the certain standards of the locals and respect their traditions. Racist remarks by tourists, socioeconomic gaps between them and natives can further exacerbate this issue and provoke a public outcry. The other drawback of touristry is unequal infrastructure growth of different regions. That is to say, governments are likely to focus on the development of tourist hotspots and most-visited destinations rather than other districts that desperately require renovations. In that case, those places in inadequate conditions are constantly neglected which can trigger more serious social issues. To sum up, although there are a whole range of benefits gotten from movement sector, some possible cons cannot be understated. From my perspective, governments should be mindful of the income generated from touristry in order for the whole country to progress equally and impose certain regulations to deter the incoming foreigners from mocking the natives, disturbing them by not honouring their cultures.