Our personalities are predetermined as a result of our genes before we are born and there is nothing that can be done to change our character traits. To what extent do you agree?

It is generally stated that before the birth of a child, his or her traits are already destined. In my opinion, I would like to object this argument as I believe that the quality of a human totally depends on the environment, such as where he lives or the way he has been brought up. I would like to add my viewpoints to clarify my statement. To begin with, a human character is everything. His/ her speech, politeness, kindness, etc. describes more about his personality. It is not related to genes, it is the situations which create a good/bad person. I consider that only the physical appearances and hereditary diseases are passed on by the genes to the successor. His/her mental state is formed by the inspiration with the surroundings. Furthermore, the family plays a vital role in the upbringing of a child's nature. As a kid, they observe everything around them and are moulded accordingly. For instance, children tend to eat what their parents are having for snacks or how to walk and dress. This is highly influential for them and later it becomes part of their style too. Therefore, being raised by steady parents or grandparents helps them to grow into responsible and compassionate young adults, whereas being engaged in the aggressive and traumatic interactions with elder members of the family, kids may develop such traits as selfishness, opportunism, etc. Moreover, quality is doing the right thing even when nobody is watching. Overall, it appears that claiming that genes are responsible for one's identity. In my opinion, a person's character can be modified with proper guidance.