Some people feel that manufactures and supermarkets have the responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging of goods. Others argue that customers should avoid buying goods with a lot of packaging. Discuss both options and give your opinion.

It is true that manufacturers and supermarkets should pay more attention to decrease the amount of cover of products. However, some people consider that customers have the responsibility to purchase goods which have less packaging. Both opinions have their reasons, but I support the first idea. On the one hand, manufacturers and supermarkets are able to prevent selling too much cover of products to customers because I think they have more resources and funds to achieve this target. In addition, it is the most effective way to protect the environment. If the sellers do not provide over-packaged goods, customers will not have the chance to buy that kind of product. As a result, the packaging is expected to not be harmful to the environment. For example, recently, lots of companies, such as Apple and Samsung, designed a special paper box which only contains paper instead of plastic to protect smartphones. In this way, when people buy a smartphone, they can receive an eco-friendly package. On the other hand, some criticisms contend that customers should be aware of purchasing over-packaged products. Since humans are living on the Earth, we need to be conscious of the importance of protecting it. They believe that if customers do not buy those products anymore, this condition can let companies upgrade their goods. However, I think that this method is too ideal to realise, because educating people to avoid buying goods with a lot of packaging is really challenging. Price affects their decisions significantly, so they will not consider the package. Therefore, it is very hard to make this idea come true. In conclusion, manufacturers and supermarkets can efficiently reduce the amount of packaging of goods because they have more resources. Although it is important to let customers have a sense of avoiding buying goods with a lot of packaging, it is too difficult to achieve.