crime rate, in most countries, is often higher in urban areas than in rural areas. why do you think that is? what can be done to reduce the crime rate.

These days, crime poses a serious threat to many countries. Experts throughout the world have argued that there is an increasing number of crimes had been reported especially in the city regions rather than suburbs. I believe it is due to the exposure to luxury lifestyle and the high level of unemployment rates. This essay will discuss my viewpoints on such a trend and propose possible solutions to mitigate the risks. On the one hand, people lead high-quality lives in urban regions which are the primary reason for this problem. This is to say that the masses are having better job opportunities and earning handsome income due to which they lead a luxury lifestyle by owning the latest gadgets and high-end cars. Such aspects attract criminals to rob money from wealthy people. Moreover, unemployment rates are high in cities because of competition and everyone is not getting an opportunity to find a well-paid job. As a result, they indulge in criminal activities to make more money to support their major life expenses. For instance, 60% of the burglary cases had been reported in India due to poverty and unemployment. On the other hand, more than one possible solution could be implemented to overcome this situation. Firstly, the government could offer unemployment benefits to people having problems finding jobs in order to support their financial expenses. In addition, such benefits will absolutely reduce the poverty and crime rates. Secondly, installing surveillance cameras in each and every street deter criminals from indulging in such activities. Finally, enforcing strict punishments such as prison act as a deterrent which will eventually minimise the offences. For instance, developed countries such as Canada, provide unemployment benefits to their residents to support their livings. To conclude, although offence rates are high in city regions, implementing the proposed solutions like offering benefits, installing cameras, and strict punishments eventually deter criminals involved in offences.