Some people think books are loosing importance as a source of information and entertainment. To what extent do you agree?

It's often believed that books are not the main source of information and leisure nowadays. i completely agree with this statement. This essay will express my point of view in detail. As for the use as an entertainment source, today there are many other options more attractive than books. Firstly, Due to the advance in technology that made it possible for individuals to watch movies and play games on their smartphones.. For instance, a recent article published that individuals spend an average of five hours per day on their phones either playing games or using social media. Secondly, since life became much more difficult and people need to work more than before so they prefer to spend their free time with friends and family. As a result, especially the young public tends to spend all of their leisure time attached to a screen or with lovers. Additionally, as a source of knowledge, with the advent of technology, people are glued to their phones because ideas can be easily transmitted via the web within a twinkle of an eye to the entire world. For example, if we need information on a particular topic, we only have to Google it and it is available for free. Thus, people tend to search for information online rather than spending money on books which are often expensive. In conclusion, people are gradually drifting away from books as a source of information and entertainment.