Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

The rapid advancement of technology changes how our society works. Besides, easy access to technology and the internet shifted our daily habits and behaviour. This includes children's behaviour related to the usage of gadgets. Not only this phenomenon might help children to grow, but also it might hinder children's development. Nowadays, access to smartphones and the internet is easier than ever. We can easily afford a smartphone with a small buck, roughly the cheapest costs about 1m rupiahs. Moreover, almost all areas in this world right now are covered by the Internet. Consequently, people tend to use their smartphones more often and it changed our ways of life. For instance, new parents are relatively busy due to their work and newborn baby. Hence, a newborn baby who needs attention from their parents is given a gadget which plays some videos entertaining the kid instead of getting attention from their mother or father. The parents choose this way because it is an instant way to keep the kind quiet and they can do anything they have to do right at that moment. This habit happens every day thus it will cause some addictions to the child. Therefore, some children now spend most of their playtime in front of their glass screen. There are some benefits and drawbacks of this demeanour. The advantage that we can get by this manner is that the younger generation will be more tech-savvy compared to us. That is a great thing since our current job market demand for tech jobs is higher than ever thus being technologically literate is important. They also can learn many things with their gadgets because they offer abundant education and knowledge. However, there are also drawbacks to this behaviour. If they are not properly supervised, our kids might watch or read inappropriate and dangerous content from the internet. Children are vulnerable to those things due to their innocence. Moreover, a health issue, such as mental health and eye problems, also might occur at an early age. They also might not develop communication and socialization skills since they use their playtime in front of gadgets instead of playing with their friends. In my opinion, we have to control how long children spend their time using their smartphones. There is an abundance of benefits we can get from it, but we also cannot ignore the drawbacks. The advantage mentioned above can be obtained by registering our children for tech classes addressed for their age, so the contents of our kids' access to the internet can be controlled. In fact, even the most tech companies' CEO do not give their children smartphones until a certain age. Therefore, it must be a good reason to restrain the screen time of our children USE SYNONYMS offspring It is important to use synonyms in your writing, as you will lose marks if you repeat words from the question and use the same words in your essay over and over. If you do that, it will show the examiner that you have a limited vocabulary and you want to do the opposite for a high band score.'s smartphones. In conclusion, the development which children spend hours on their smartphones every day is leaning more towards the negative one.